An independent review panel was appointed to undertake the review.

Sue Chetwin. Sue Chetwin (Chair)

Sue was the Chief Executive of Consumer NZ for 13 years where she successfully campaigned for many important consumer law reforms. Prior to this, Sue had been a journalist for more than 25 years and was the editor of the Sunday News, Sunday Star Times and the Herald on Sunday. Sue is a member of a number of boards and review panels. Earlier this year, Sue was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to consumer rights.

Professor Sue Crengle

Sue is a doctor who is a specialist in general practice and public health medicine, and has been working as a researcher for over 25 years. Her research interests include health services research, inequities in health, and child and youth health. She is currently a Professor of Hauora Māori in the Department of Social and Preventive Medicine, at the University of Otago. Sue is a member of a number of advisory groups and is a Māori representative on the WellSouth board. She is affiliated with Waitaha, Kāti Mamoe and Kāi Tahu.

Dr Tristram Ingham. Dr Tristram Ingham

Tristram is a Medical Epidemiologist with expertise in addressing health inequities, especially within Māori health, long-term conditions, disability rights, and healthcare governance.

He is a senior research fellow at the University of Otago, where he is involved with a number of epidemiological and clinical studies. Major research interests are asthma (particularly among Māori), bronchiolitis, the role of vitamin D in respiratory health, and sleep disordered breathing. He chairs the Muscular Dystrophy Association (Tuaatara | Central Region) and is vice chair of the Muscular Dystrophy Association of New Zealand.

Frank McLaughlin. Frank McLaughlin

Frank has 25 years’ experience across regulation, public policy and legislative processes, corporate governance, corporate advisory and transactions. He is a Consultant at Chapman Tripp and has previously held roles within the public service as a Deputy Secretary at the Ministry of Justice and within the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Heather Simpson. Heather Simpson

Heather has a background in health economics and was previously an economics lecturer at the University of Otago. From 1999 – 2008 she was Chief of Staff to then Prime Minister, Rt Hon Helen Clark. She went on to work at the United Nations Development Programme as a Special Advisor. Heather has extensive advisory committee experience including as Chair of the Health and Disability System Review.

Leanne Te Karu. Leanne Te Karu

Leanne Te Karu is of Ngāti Rangi, Whanganui, Muaūpoko descent. She is a member of the first cohort of pharmacist prescribers in Aotearoa. Her expertise focuses on complex chronic care, with addressing unmet need and optimal prescribing. She works in general practices, predominantly Māori of lower socioeconomic demography. However, her career has intentionally spanned different environments of the health sector, including primary and secondary care, academia, and Ministerial appointments. In addition, she has been a long-time advocate of a health systems response to the medicines system.

The Review was supported by a small Secretariat.

Last modified: